top of page

Welborne Village Hall Trust

The Welborne Village Hall Charitable Trust was established as a charity on 9th August 1999, under the then name of The Old School Room. The governing document has subsequently been amended several times, with the agreement of the Charity Commission.


The objectives of the charity are ‘the provision and maintenance of a village hall for use by the in- habitants of the area of benefit without distinction of political, religious or other opinions for the advancement of education, the provision of recreation and leisure-time activities and for the religious and other charitable work of the Church of England with the object of improving the conditions of life for the inhabitants’. 


There are now seven trustee positions holders which are elected at the AGM of Welborne Village Hall by residents of Welborne: 

  • At least five will be residents of Welborne

  • Two may come from outside the geographical boundaries of Welborne

  • Trustees stand for an initial term of 4 years and may only be re-elected once

  • Trustees will retire by rotation

  • The Trustees meet quarterly

  • The main activities of the charity are: The maintenance and development of the village hall itself; Planning and delivering a programme of events; Maximising use of the hall through lettings.


The current constitution of the Trust is being reviewed and rewritten to provide clarity on structure and purpose. The existing constitution, which is spread across multiple historic documents, is available on request.


Current Trustees and ex officio officers

  • Kevin Rumsey (Chair)

  • Tracey Palmer

  • Lesley Webb

  • Sue Lishman

  • Tina Redshaw

  • Nick Grant

  • Mike Webb (Treasurer)

(Note: The constitution for the Trust legislates for a turnover of Trustees with terms of four years to a maximum of 8 years.)

bottom of page